Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

15th biennial conference of Telahi Kamalaboria Xahitya Xabha concludes

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 Jan 2018 12:00 AM GMT


LAKHIMPUR, Jan 8: The 15th biennial conference of Telahi Kamalaboriya Anchalik Sakha Xahitya Xabha, one of the largest branches of Axam Xahitya Xabha (AXX), covering two mouzas of Lakhimpur district, concluded with grand success on Sunday. The event was organized at Kutuhaguri, at the local LP School premises, under greater Khaga area with a two-day long programme on January 6 and January 7. On the first day, it began with the iuguration of the welcome gate constructed by Jivan Jyoti SHG. It was iugurated by Ruhit Kakati, the working president of the organizing committee. Then artiste Satyath Phukan iugurated the Joyram Khaond and Sarumai Khaond Memorial Auditorium. Biren Bordoloi, the secretary of Lakhimpur District Xahitya Xabha, iugurated the delegate meeting in which writer Jogyorayan Hundique and poet Powal Gogoi were selected as the president and secretary of the committee for the next session.

On the second day, life-long member of AXX Putali led the agenda in motion with the iuguration of a massive plantation drive. It was followed by the unfurling of the flag of AXX by president Prashanta Kumar Borah. ‘Hitaishi’ member Ratul Kumar th lit the earthen lamp in the Swardhanjali event which was administered by senior citizen Rupram Saikia. Then several competitions were held among the students. The poet’s conference was chaired by jourlist-cum- poet Ranjit Kakati. More than 30 poets of the district recited their self-composed poetry in the programme in which literary critic-cum-poet Dr. Jitu Kumar Chamua delivered the reviewing lecture of the recited poetry, besides taking part as the chief guest of the open session chaired by newly-selected president Jogyorayan Hundique.

In the iugural speech, president of Lakhimpur district Xahitya Xabha highlighted the plans and programmes adopted by the district committee of the organization in order to take the culture of literature to the grassroots level. Bhupen Hazarika delivered the welcome address. In the programme, Sahitya Jyoti Award winner, writer Bharat Rajkhowa released Swarbahi, the regular jourl of the branch, edited by Mintu Sarmah. Another book, Chakya Sloka, translated to Assamese by Ratul Kumar th was released by poet-writer Dr. Jagadish Goswami. Chief guest Jitu Kumar Chamuah explained in his lecture how literature had established integration among the people of different castes and creeds. Secretary of the branch, Sanjib Borah who anchored the whole programme, offered the vote of thanks along with Mahendra Saikia, the scretary of the organizing committee. Gitacharya Purandar Baruah iugurated the concluding programme Paniram Bhuyan Bayan and Maliram Sonowal memorial cultural event in the evening in which artiste Satyath Phukan and Bidya Das were felicitated.

Next Story