Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

16 candidates file nomition papers on last day of submission

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, March 25: As many as 16 candidates from different political parties, including independent candidates, submitted their nomition papers in five constituencies under Kokrajhar subdivision on the last day of submission of nomition on Wednesday.

The candidates are, Piyali Phukan th (PCDR-Fakiragram), Afjal Hoque Sarkar (Congress-Fakiragram), Ri Das (Independent- Fakiragram), Mateur Rahman (SJAM-Fakiragram), Dhriti Sundar Basumatary (Congress -Salakati), Arpa Das (SJAM-Salakati), Pradip Rava (Oboro Suraksha Samity-Baokhungri), Ashok Borgoyary (Congress-Debargaon), Manjil Basumatary (Independent-Baokhungri), Bipin Barman (Independent-Fakiragram), Abdul Ali Mandal (AIUDF-Fakiragram), Dhanuram Mashahary (Congress -Bargaon), Baleswar Basumatary (Independent-Baokhungri) Rajesh Brahma (Congress -Baokhungri), Mahesh Das (SJAM-Baokhungri) and Amar Sarkar (Independent-Fakiragram). Fakiragram has the highest number of contesting candidates.

Talking to media persons, former Rajya Sabha MP and political observer of PCDR for Kokrajhar district, UG Brahma said their party would form the next government at BTC. He said the PCDR would fight in 38 constituencies in the forthcoming council elections to be held on April 8. He also said the PCDR would win in at least 30 seats. “PCDR is ready to form alliance with other like-minded parities except BPF after poll result if necessary,” he said adding that some third party was trying to blame PCDR by hatching conspiracy against them. He said the PCDR was not involved in vandalizing election offices of other parties.

President of SJAM, Hiteswar Barman who is also the president of the AKRSU, said the SJAM would be victorious in 30 seats and would form the BTC government. He ruled out alliance with other political parties and said the SJAM was a platform of all communities. He also said that political parties had been betraying the common masses. He further said that the SJAM would demand for review of BTC Accord if it came to power but would not demand for scrapping of MoS of BTC.

Congress candidate from Fakiragram, Afjal Hoque Sarkar who is also BTC MCLA, said that it is imminent that the Congress would form the next government in BTC. Mateur Rahman, independent candidate from Fakiragram, also expressed confidence about emerging victorious.

Next Story