Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

17 areas desigted as liquor free zone

17 areas desigted as liquor free zone

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 April 2018 12:00 AM GMT

A correspondent

Shillong, April 10: The State government has desigted 17 areas in Shillong and Tura as ‘liquor free zone’ wherein vending of liquor in such places will not be permitted. Out of the 17 areas desigted as liquor free zone, 10 are in Shillong and seven is in Tura. However, opposition legislator from East Shillong Ampareen Lyngdoh said that despite such regulation, the restaurants and hotels in those areas were serving alcohol. “Shillong Club as one of the places despite being in the liquor free zone serves alcohol,” Lyngdoh added. Excise Minister Metbah Lyngdoh, however, said that he would look into the matter. Opposition MLA Winnerson D Sangma asked on the necessity of declaring 17 places as liquor free zones. In his reply, Lyngdoh stated that the government created those areas after a notification in 2017 amending Rule 183 of the Meghalaya Excise Rules, 1945. The Excise Minister also stated that as per provisions in the notification it is clearly mentioned that the State government could notify any area as liquor free zone whenever necessary from time to time.

Next Story