Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

1,75,129 voters to decide fate of four candidates in Golaghat

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT


Golaghat, April 3: The Golaghat district administration is all set to conduct the first phase of Assembly election for five constituencies slated to be held on Monday. The polling officials along with sector officers and zol officers have left for their respective polling stations from here today amidst tight security.

In Golaghat election district four candidates—Ajanta Neog (INC), Bitupon Saikia (BJP-AGP alliance candidate), Dipankar Das (Independent) and Zahid Abdulla (AUIDF) are contesting from 95 Golaghat LAC while four others—Bismita Gogoi (INC), Mril Saikia (BJP), Sah Jahan Ali (AUIDF) and Lalun Thakur (CPI) contesting from 96 Khumtai LAC. A total of 175129 voters of which 89523 are male and 885606 are female in Golaghat LAC and altogether 120261 voters out of which 61604 are male and 58657 are female in Khumtai LAC will exercise their franchise in 379 polling stations of Golaghat election district. The administration has taken up all necessary arrangements to conduct free and fair polls.

Next Story