Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

23rd biennial conference of DDMETA concludes

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Staff Correspondent

DIBRUGARH, August 27: The two-day 23rd biennial conference of Dibrugarh District Middle English Teachers’ Association (DDMETA) concluded successfully at the Lahowal Girls’ School recently.

The various programmes of the conference started with the unfurling of the Association’s flag by its president Khagendra th Chetia Phukan. Thaneswar Dutta formally iugurated the delegates camp while Ranjit Gogoi planted saplings. Former general secretary Pradip Gogoi iugurated the delegates meeting. The intimate discussion held among former office bearers of the DDMETA made the participants more nostalgic. The entire discussion was moderated by the former president of the association, Gandheswar Saikia.

The open meeting organized on the occasion was formally iugurated by DDMETA president, Krishkanta Talukdar who in his presidential address, spoke on various issues of the school teachers. The souvenir Samanya which was brought out to mark the conference was formally released by Indra Gogoi of the Dibrugarh unit of the Sadou Asom Karmachari Parishad, while souvenir of the reception committee Lahowal was released by the former Primary Education Officer, Barbaruah Block, Prahlad Chandra Tasha. The School Inspector and District Primary Education Officer, Tilak Chandra Saikia felicitated the retired teachers with gifts and citation besides winners of tiol Teacher award, Khagendra th Chetia Phukan(2013) and literary pensioner (2013) Gandheswar Saikia. The meeting was attended , amongst others , by former general secretary of the association, Kandarp Deka, Primary Education Officer (in-charge), Rinti Dihingia of Lahowal, secretary of District High School Teachers’ Association, Nomol Chandra Gogoi, president of the District Middle School Teachers’ Association , Biseswar Gogoi, secretary of District Sadou Asom Karmachari Parishad , Dilip Singh and others. A new executive committee of DDMETA for the next session was constituted with Kalyan Kumar Gogoi and Kartik Hazarika as president and secretary respectively.

Next Story