Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

3 Garo Hills candidates fail scrutiny test

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 Feb 2018 12:00 AM GMT

From a correspondent

Tura, Feb 8: Three candidates in Garo Hills have faced rejection during the scrutiny of their nomition papers, while all 24 sitting legislators from the region have cleared the test to contest the February 27 polls.

The candidates whose mes were rejected were aspiring to contest from Rajabala and Selsella in West Garo Hills and Mahendraganj in South-West Garo Hills district.

The woman candidate of the North East India Development Party (NEIDP), Arelitha K Sangma, failed the scrutiny test from Selsella as she did not have 10 proposers for her candidature, which is mandatory when contesting from a non-recognized party.

Similarly, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate for Rajabala constituency Milson Sangma’s candidature was also struck down after failure to introduce the required 10 proposers for his candidature.

Both Arelitha K Sangma and Milson Sangma were able to introduce only a single proposer for their mes.

Meanwhile, in South-West Garo Hills district, another NEIDP candidate, Serazul H Kharkongor, had his candidature rejected by the Returning Officer as he was disqualified after the 2103 Assembly elections.

Kharkongor had unsuccessfully contested the previous State elections from Tikrikilla constituency and failed to produce his expenditure accounts to the Election Commission of India (ECI) leading to his disqualification.

However, there was no rejection of candidates in the constituencies of East, North and South Garo Hills districts during the scrutiny.

Next Story