Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

3 UDP leaders resign

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 Sep 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From A Reporter

SHILLONG, Sept 18: In what can be termed as a major blow to the United Democratic Party (UDP), three vice presidents of the party from Ranikor constituency along with their supporters tendered resigtion letters to party president Dr Don Kupar Roy on Monday.

The three vice president of the party are Roshem Myrthong, RR Marak and Kuringstone D Shira.

Addressing reporters in the city, Roshem Myrthong said the main reason for their resigtion from the UDP is issuance of a ticket by the party to one who is unlikely to win in the 2018 Assembly election from their constituency.

“The leaders of UDP central body did not listen to the views of their supporters, which was not to announce the me of a candidate in a hasty manner. But now the party has announced the me of Pious Marwein to contest the upcoming polls from Ranikor constituency,” he said. He informed the media that after a meeting with other fellow UDP leaders from Ranikor they had taken a decision to instead support Aurmarshal Diengngan.

Next Story