30th annual congress of Mathematics academy from June 29

From our Correspondent

Bongaigaon, Jan 16: The 30th annual Congress of Assam Academy of Mathematics (AAM) will be held at Bongaigaon under the aegis of AAM , Bongaigaon branch with a three-day long programme from January 29 to January 31 at Birjhora Girls’ High School premises in Bongaigaon town.

Birbrata Das Choudhury, central general secretary of AAM said that along with the delegate sessions, programmes like science exhibition, mathematics quiz for student of class IX-X, one day workshop on low cost teaching material on Science and Mathematics for teachers, popular talk have also been chalked out for the greater benefit of the  students and teachers of the locality.

“Noted mathematician Dr Buddha Prasad Chetia, former Professor of Mathematics of Gauhati University, Dr Tarekeswar Choudhury, former Professor of Cotton College,  Dr Anupa Saikiya, Professor Mathematics department of IIT Guwahati, Dr Dilip Sarma of Cotton College, Dr Dwiraj Talukdar, president of AAM, Dr Hemanta Kumar Barua, Vice Chancellor of Bodoland University and Dr Ath Chandra Das, scientist of Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad will grace different events of the three-day long programme as key note speakers.  Noted science and mathematics communicator Dhurjyoti Prasad Mazumdar, retired Principal of Tinsukia Railway H S School will conduct a one-day workshop for Mathematics teachers.  Mathematics Olympiad activists as well as good number of mathematicians from across the State are expected to attend the congress as delegates,” he said.

Already a reception committee had been formed with Phani Bhusan Choudhury, MLA, Bongaigaon as chief patron and Biswajit Pegu, DC, Bongaigaon, Kumar Sanjit Krish, SP, Bongaigaon as patrons and Pulin Choudhury, Chatrasing Choudhury and Arup Jyoti Mazumdar as president and joint general secretaries respectively.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam