Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

43rd annual convention of ANXS gets under way today

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 Nov 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Dibrugarh, Nov 11: The 43rd annual convention of Axom Nepali Xahitya Sabha (ANXS) , 14th Triennial Great Convention and Tihar Bidai Festival, 2016 will kick off at the Chaolung Su-ka-pha Auditorium, Dihing Patkai Samanyo Khetro in Rampur, Jagun from Saturday.

The three-day colourful festival is being organized by ANXS Margherita District Committee in association with Primary Branch Committee, Regiol and Branch Committee of All Assam Gorkha Students’ Union (AAGSU) ,Tirap Jagun Regiol Committee and Branch Committee of AAGSU.

The cultural function of the three-day festival will commence at 9 am on Saturday and will be iugurated by the president of AAGSU, Tinsukia district, Numal Chetri. Later, the president of the reception committee, Mohan Rimal will iugurate the delegate camp.

On Sunday, the main event of the three-day festival will begin with a flag hoisting ceremony to be hosted by the president of ANXS, Damaru Dahal, and then tribute to the martyrs will be paid by the executive president of ANXS, Niru Sarmah Parajuli and the general secretary of ANXS, Dr. Chintamani Sarmah.

A tree plantation programme will also be carried out wherein saplings would be planted by the general secretary of AAGSU, Tinsukia district , Chandan Loh, the founder general secretary of Assam Nepali Students’ Union (ANSU) Binod Khol and others.

Later on, a cultural function will be iugurated by the president of ANXS, Margherita district, Bhim Maharaji. A book fair to be held on the occasion will be iugurated by noted Nepali writer Juddhobir Ra. On the same day, an open meeting will be held from 1 pm which will be presided over by retired IAS officer Dambaru Dahal and the open meeting will be iugurated by DB Chetri.

The other distinguished chief guests and speakers who are scheduled grace the occasion are chairman of Bhanu Pratishthan, Dr. Brataraj Acharya , Literary Pension awardee Dr.Shiva Acharya , coorditor of Xahitya Akademi Nepali Advisory Committee, Darjeeling , Prem Pradhan, chairman of Manipur Nepali Xahitya Sabha, Lomba Bannet , noted writer of Myanmar, Amit Ghimel, noted writer of Bhutan , Chatrapati Puwel , president of AAGSU , Prem Tamang , MP of Tezpur, RP Sharma and other noted writers and intellectuals of the Nepali community of Assam, stated the president and general secretary of the reception committee, Mohan Rimal and Sunil Gurung, respectively in a press release.

Next Story