Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

7 Trimool legislators vote for Kovind

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 July 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From a correspondent

Agartala, July 17: tiol Democratic Alliance candidate for the Presidential election Ramth Kobind got at least seven votes from Tripura where the BJP or any of its alleys have no elected representative.

Out of these seven MLA’s six are those who recently left the Trimool Congress led by Sudip Roy Barman and waiting for a formal joining in BJP. Another one Ratan Lal th is still a Congress MLA but candidly announced his support to Mr Kovind.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, his cabinet colleagues, Congress president Birajit Sinha were among the 59 MLA’s who exercised their franchise. Ramendra Kumar th, speaker, who is currently under treatment in Kolkata cast his vote in the West Bengal Assembly.

Two MP’s of lok sabha and the lone Rajya Sabha MP from Tripura also cast their vote here. It is presumed that these three MP’s, 51 Left Front MLA’s and two Congress MLA cast vote in favor of opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

This election is seen as an opportunity for six TMC deserters to join BJP. After casting vote Mr Sudip Roy Barman while talking to the reporters said they would have a meeting with the BJP state leadership on July 21 and after that everything would be filized.

Next Story