Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AFSPA extension to Aruchal districts unjustified'

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 April 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Our correspondent

Itagar, April 3: Lok Sabha MP from Aruchal Pradesh Ninong Ering has voiced strong objection to the Centre’s decision to extend the Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) to three districts of the State.

“When Aruchal Pradesh is known as a peaceful State and the Centre is holding parleys to hammer out an acceptable solution to the ga issue, what is the justification to extend AFSPA to the three districts of the State?” the Congress MP said.

Speaking over phone from New Delhi, Ering alleged that the move reflected the contradictory policy of the present BJP-led NDA government.

The Centre on Monday extended AFSPA in three districts of Aruchal Pradesh and eight police station areas bordering Assam by another six months.

According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts of the State and eight police stations bordering Assam were declared ‘disturbed’ areas under AFSPA, 1958.

The Act gives special rights and immunity to security forces in carrying out various operations in ‘disturbed’ areas. It gives security personnel the power to search premises and arrest without warrant, and to use force even to the extent of causing death.

The eight police stations include Balemu and Bhalukpong police stations in West Kameng district, Seijosa police station in East Kameng district, Balijan police station in Papum Pare district, msai and Mahadevpur police stations in msai district, Roing police station in Lower Dibang Valley and Sunpura police station in Lohit district.

The two police station areas from where the Act has been withdrawn are Likabali police station in Lower Siang district and Ruksin police station in East Siang district.

Next Story