Home » Andhra Pradesh Assembly session begins from Today

Andhra Pradesh Assembly session begins from Today

Source: Google


Amaravati: The Andhra Pradesh Assembly in Velagapudi of Amaravati is all set to begin from today with the oath-taking ceremony of newly elected MLAs of the 15th Legislative Assembly of the state.

These are the first sessions for the new government after the general elections in the state. After a long gap, the YSRCP MLA’s will be attending the Assembly in the position of the ruling party. Unlike ever before, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has appointed five deputy CM’s, another five government whip’s, Speaker, Opposition leader with this there is quite a confusion in the allocation of the chambers.

The session will begin at 11.05 am, an official statement from the Assembly Secretary stated. The oath-taking ceremony will be administered by Pro-tem Speaker Sambangi Appala Naidu, who was sworn in earlier. Sambangi is a senior MLA from Bobbili Assembly constituency.

Firstly, YS Jagan will take oath in the Chief Minister’s position, and later as the Opposition leader Nara Chandrababu Naidu will swear-in. The Assembly Speaker election will be held on 13th June. On 14th, the state Governor ESL Narasimhan will address the house. 15th and 16th are declared as holidays. Discussion on the Governor’s speech will be on 17th June.

For this financial year, the budget sessions will be held by the end of June. So far there is no clarity whether the Assembly sessions will be extended or will be conducted again later. It’s learned that in the Governor’s speech, Navaratnalu schemes, other issues are likely to be mentioned. Over the Assembly sessions, the police department has made strong security arrangements. A special drive has been conducted with the dog squad and bomb squad team in the surrounding areas on Tuesday.

The newly-elected members of the Assembly will take oath on June 12-13 in alphabetical order.

On June 13, the members will elect the Speaker, Tammineni Sitaram, YSRCP MLA from Amudalavalasa. The Deputy Speaker’s election will also follow in the same session.

On June 14, Governor E S L Narasimhan will address a joint session of the Assembly and the Council at 9.00 am. The first Assembly session will go on till the 18th of this month.

The new Assembly has 151 MLAs from the ruling YSRCP led by CM Jagan Mohan Reddy and 23 from the TDP led by former CM Naidu, while Jana Sena Party has one MLA.


Also read: Assam Legislative Assembly (ALA) Going Digital