Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Arup puts Assam closer to semis

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  6 Feb 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Ranji quarter

By our sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Feb 5: Assam reached closer to earn a semi fil spot in the Ranji trophy championship courtsey to a magnificent bowling from Arup Das. The right handed pacer took 6 for 82 in the second innings and pushed Punjab in deep trouble. Chasing 288 to win on the third day in Valsad, Punjab reached 224 for 8 by close of play. The side needed need another 64 runs with two wickets in hand.

Arup cut through Punjab's top order, sending back the openers and No 3 batsman Uday Kaul by the 10th over to leave the side at 26 for 3. Gurkeerat Singh and Mandeep Singh tried to consolidate the innings with a 70-run partnership for the fourth wicket but both batsmen fell to pacer Dheeraj Goswami. Arup then returned to get rid of Mayank Sidha, Harbhajan Singh and Siddarth Kaul in a span of 21 runs.

Earlier Assam collapsed to 101 in their second innings Assam , who had a first-innings lead of 186, had started the third day at 23 for 4 and were soon reduced to 53 for 8. Arup had a handy contribution with the bat, too, scoring a quick 31 from 18 deliveries. There are three fours and two sixes in his innings.

Score board

Assam 1st innings 323.

Punjab 1st innings 137.

Assam 2nd innings: PP Das c Khera b S Kaul 0 RG Hazarika c Khera b Bansal 18 G Sharma c Khera b Sran 8 Amit Verma b Sran 4 KB Arun Karthik lbw b Sran 0AS Sinha c Khera b Sran 3 J Syed Mohammad lbw b S Kaul 10 Tarjinder Singh b S Kaul 0 DS Goswami c Khera b Sran 14 AK Das b S Kaul 31 K Das not out 6 Extras (b 2, lb 1, w 2, nb 2) 7 Total (all out; 35.5 overs) 101 (2.81 runs per over)

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-9, 3-13, 4-13, 5-34, 6-36, 7-46, 8-53, 9-78, 10-101,

Bowling: S Kaul 11.5-6-25-4 BB Sran 15-3-43-5 DN Bansal 9-5-30-1

Punjab 2nd innings: Jiwanjot Singh c Arun Karthik b AK Das 9 Pargat Singh c PP Das b AK Das 16 U Kaul c Arun Karthik b AK Das 0 Mandeep Singh c PP Das b Goswami 29 Gurkeerat Singh c Sharma b Goswami 64 M Sidha c Sharma b AK Das 43 G Khera not out 35 Harbhajan Singh c Amit Verma b AK Das 8 S Kaul c Arun Karthik b AK Das 10 BB Sran not out 8 Extras (lb 2) 2 Total (8 wickets; 60 overs) 224.

Fall of wickets 1-25 , 2-25, 3-26, 4-96, 5-133, 6-189, 7-197, 8-211,

Bowling: K Das 22-4-62-0 AK Das 20-2-82-6 DS Goswami 10-2-38-2 PP Das 7-1-29-0 Amit Verma 1-0-11-0.

Next Story