Home » Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) Felicitates New Party MPs

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) Felicitates New Party MPs


GUWAHATI: The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) on Sunday felicitated the party’s three newly elected MPs at a function at Rajiv Bhawan here.

The new MPs are Gaurav Gogoi, Abdul Khaleque and Pradyut Bardaloi from Kaliabor, Barpeta and Nowgong constituencies respectively.

Addressing the function, APCC president Ripun Bora said even though the Lok Sabha results did not turn out to be as expected by the Congress, vote share for the party has increased in Assam. He said the party workers will have to work with new zeal for future.

After the function Bora, however, said the Congress Working Committee is planning for a structural change of the party from top to bottom.

Gaurav Gogoi, who was elected as MP from Kaliabor for the second consecutive term, said he would work more for the development of his constituency. He will raise burning issues of Assam in the Parliament. “It is also time for the party workers to prepare for the 2021 Assembly polls,” Gogoi said.

Speaking on the occasion, Abdul Khaleque said he would put pressure on the Centre to convert Barpeta, the Xatra Nagori as a historical place of the country.

Senior Congress leader Dr Bhumidhar Barman and leader of the Opposition Debabrata Saikia, among others, attended the felicitation function.