Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assembly Polls: GNC releases first list of candidates

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT


Boko, March 4: An emergency meeting of the representatives from Garo inhabited villages of Assam was organized by Garo tiol Council’s Kamrup and Goalpara district committees today, as BJP-AGP-BPF-RHAC forged an alliance for upcoming Assembly election in the State.

The meeting was attended by Chandan Keshab, chief convener of Ajanjati-Garo Sanmillita Sangram Samittee, Belson Marak, treasurer, GNC, Kamrup, Tharman Momin, working president of GNC, Twister Sangma , general secretary, GNC and Kopathi Sangma , president of Garo Youth Council.

Sources said the Garo tiol Council decided to contest Assembly polls following the BJP’s assurance to Rabhas for granting sixth schedule to the community including the Garo and non-tribal villages and due to the indifferent attitude of the Congress government towards their demand of forming a Garo Autonomous Satellite Council in Assam.

The GNC will contest the Assembly polls allying with Ajanjati Suraksha Manch.

The GNC has nomited candidates for Chayyagaon, Dudhi and East Goalpara constituency. Candidates for Boko reserved constituency will declare next week only. The mes of candidates who have been nomited by GNC are K Marak for Chayygaon, Tharman Momin for Dudhnoi and Albert Marak from East Goalpara.

Next Story