ATTA new body formed

Mriganka Barman new president: Secretary retains his post

* Some district representatives ‘forced’ to quit AGM
* Silchar DSA allege – ATTA violate norms of the constitution

Our Sports Reporter
GUWAHATI, April 29; Assam Table Tennis Association (ATTA) constituted its new committee during the Annual General Meeting of the association which was held in a city hotel today. Mriganka Barman is unanimously selected as the new president of the organization while Tridip Duvarah retained his post as the secretary.
Although all the members of the committee was unanimously selected but the office bearer has to spent tough time before the start of the meeting as the representatives of four districts were barred from entering the meeting for not fulfilling the proper norms. Nearly one hour was delayed because of it and the meeting was started after those officials left the hotel.
Talking to the media persons just after the meeting the outgoing president Rokybul Hussain said, “We tried our best to give the game a new height and I am hopeful that new committee will carry forward our good work.”
Later in a first reaction to The Sentinel the newly elected president of the ATTA Mriganka Barman said, “Huge responsibility has been entrusted on me and I will try my best to make everyone happy with the performance. Table Tennis had golden era in our state and my first aim is to bring back the lost glory. On the other hand our Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is working hard to make Assam as the sports capital of India and I feel we can contribute in this area by improving the quality of TT in the State.”
Meanwhile the representatives of Silchar, Nazira and Lakhimpur district today alleged that ATTA had organized the AGM by violating norms of the constitution. Addressing a media conference after the AGM is over the representative of Silchar DSA Pranabananda Das today alleged, “As per the circular of ATTA, name of our representatives was sent well ahead to the ATTA office by hand and also by email but still they refused to accept it and were forced us to leave the meeting hall today without any valid reason. It’s a black day of Sports in Assam.”
He alleged that Tridib Duvarah recommanded some name to represent Silchar as representative in the meeting which was overturned Silchar DSA which might be the reason of this activity.
He also added that according to the constitution Tridib Duvarah and several other members can not retain their posts as their term is already over.
The media briefing was also attended by the representatives of Nazira Ashwini Buragohain, Kaushik Kumar Phukan along with Ranjit Kumar Dutta and Abbas Uddin, the representatives of Lakhimpur.
The representatives of the different district associations jointly announced that they will meet Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and also informed the matter to the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) with request to dissolve the unconstitutional body immediately and hold new AGM under neutral observer from TTFI or any retired High Court judge.
New Committee: President: Mriganka Barman, Secretary: Tridib Duvarah, Treasurer: Nayan Jyoti Sarma, Vice President: Monalisa Baruah Mehta, Nandini Baruah Sarma, Arunjyoti Baruah, Munin Nobis, Raj Kakoti, Babul Hore, Lila Kanta Gogoi Jamshed Ahmed Khan, Rajib Sarma and Iswar Barthakur. Joint Secretary:Carfew Roy, Gautam Hazarika, Biplab Goswami, Subhrajit Singha and Jatin Bora. Assistant Secretary: Kukil Dutta, Dilip Singha, Devojyoti Srutikar and Biman Bhagawati.