Axom Xahitya Xabha's Barbari branch formed

From our Staff Correspondent

DIBRUGARH, March 9: The new branch of Axam Xahitya Xabha (AXX) was formed in presence of AXX vice-president Dr Prahlad Chandra Tasha recently.

Christened as Barbari Sakha Xahitya Xabha, it will cover a large number of populace of Barbari, Paltan Bazar, Maizan, Hiloidhari, Bongalgaon and Dibrujan areas. The public meeting organized on the occasion was presided over by the Editor of Subansir , Ramesh Saikia. Inspector of School, Dibrugarh District, Dr Tilak Chandra Saikia formally iugurated the meeting. In his iugural address, Dr Saikia said, the AXX could opt for a new scheme through which AXX would extend fincial support to economically weak writers, poets, and artists for flourishing their talent, which was very common in foreign countries.

“Assam Xahitya Xabha could play a pivotal role in creating a suitable atmosphere so that our authors can generate literature of intertiol standard,” Dr Saikia added. Expressing his best wishes to newly formed Barbari branch of AXX, he hoped that the branch would usher a positive approach towards development of art and literature of the region. Dr Saikia also formally released the wall magazine Borluit  brought out on the occasion by the faculty and students of Paltan Bazar Primary School.

Dr Prahlad Tasha in his capacity as chief guest of the meeting lauded the efforts of organizers for forming the AXX Barbari branch, and explained the ambitious projects of AXX like ‘Kuhi’, ‘Ramdhenu’, and ‘Akash’ designed to explore the literary talents of kids, youths and women respectively.  Dr Tasha suggested to execute these programmes under proper guidance and advice of suitable persolities.

The meeting, amongst others, was attended by assistant secretary of AXX, Dr Pratosh Lata Buragohain, president district AXX, Krish Kanta Bora,  ward commissioner Sudama Pandey, social activist Md. Ali Ahmed Ansari and teacher Dilip Singh.

A 31-member new committee was formed with Ramesh Saikia and Sivaji Purkaysthya as president and secretary respectively. The other members of the committee are vice-presidents Dilip Singh and Bhaskar Jyoti Saikia, assistant secretaries, Md Al Ahmed Ansari, Jun Talukdar, and Benu Gogoi, treasurer Pradip Kumar Devand magazine secretary Jak Das.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam