Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bamdev Goswami Prize Money Debate Competition held

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  27 Sep 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From our Staff Correspondent

Dibrugarh, September 26: Kriti Rajkhowa of Duliajan bagged the first prize in the All Assam Bamdev Goswami Prize Money Debate Competition which was organized by Dibrugarh Art Players Society (DAPS) here at Amolapatty tya Mandir on Sunday.

The second prize of the open debate competition was presented to Mira Sarmah of Dibrugarh , third prize was awarded to Raktim Ranjan Baruah of Jorhat while the fourth prize was won by Nidhesh Gogoi of Golaghat.

The Bamdev Goswami Running Trophy was presented to the Kriti Rajkhowa , while Mira Sarmah and Raktim Ranjan Baruah were felicitated with Parbati Kumar Goswami Running Trophy and Ashwini Kumar Goswami Running Trophy. Moreover, the fourth prize winner Nidhesh Gogoi was presented with the Ranjeet Kumar Goswami Running Trophy. All the winners were also awarded with individual cash rewards.

The speaker for the prize money open debate competition were former Principal of DHSK Commerce College , Kalpa Khaund ; former Professor of DHSK Kanoi College, Dr. Minu Buragohain ; Professor of Dibru College, Ranjit Sinha and Professor of the Department of Law, Dibrugarh University, Dipam Baruah.

In the competition the participants both in Assamese and English language debated for and against on the topic ‘In the opinion of the House are old -age homes pertinent in the present context’. Note worthily as the aforesaid prize money open debate competition was open for students of Class XI and others, the competition witnessed the participation of debaters of all ages. The oldest debater participant being an 80-year old person competing with a 25-year old student.

At least 40 participants from different parts of Upper Assam took part in the debate competition, which was iugurated by the well-known poet of Assam, Dr. Intikabur Rehman. The background and various aspects of the competition, which is being organized every year since 1947, was at length stated by the former president of Dibrugarh branch of Axam Xahitya Xabha and advocate, Prasenjit Goswami Earlier, the ceremony of lighting the traditiol lamp was carried out by the president of DAPS, Dr. Prakash Baruah, Dr. Kamini Ranjan Baruah and secretary of DAPS, Abani Sarmah and others. The entire event was anchored by the secretary of Dibrugarh Art Player, Anil Dowerah.

Next Story