Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Baokhungri Festival concludes with huge flow of visitors

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, April 18: The 4th Baokhungri Festival which started from April 12, concluded recently at the historic famous Baokhungri hills situated near Kokrajhar with a huge flow of visitors from the north-eastern States as well as from Punjab, West Bengal and other States of India. The festival had all enthusiasm with flavours of ethnic food, hill trekking and indigenous games that attracted the people.

The hill trek competition, competitions of indigenous games, ethnic food festival, added to the essence of the festival. In the hill trekking competition on the hill top of Baokhungri, over 200 participants took part from various districts of Assam, including competitors from Punjab, Tripura, Kartak, Assam and West Bengal. Kiranjit Kaur of Bhatinda district of Punjab got the first prize in woman category. She finished the 7 km rough hill trekking in 43.32 minutes. In the last two years also, she had won the first prize. For the third consecutive year, Kiranjit Kaur has been the winner of the first prize. Meanwhile, Pratima Tudu of Bhola, Hoogly district of West Bengal, who finished in 44.10 minutes, got the second prize and Shymali Sing of Pachim Medinipur of West Bengal, who finished the last leg in 46.43 minutes, won the third prize this year.

The top 10 position holders who received Rs. 5,000 each are- Matowara Ahmed of Kalatoli, Kamrup, Mi Bordoloi, Nowkhola, Morigaon, Surya Banu, Koriamari of lbari, Sangita Bordoloi, SAI of Guwahati, Bhanu Deka Bordoloi, Digaru of Kamrup, Rashamai Boro, Deokhol of Jagiroad and Rabi Mashahary of Sarukuchijhar of Baksa district.

In the male category, the first prize was won by Biplob Roy of Kumarghat, Tripura. He finished the 7 km hill trekking in 36.38 minutes followed by Jahidul Islam of Purangaon, Kamrup (36.39 minutes) and Rajendra Kr. Bind Raniganj, Bardhwan of West Bengal (37.24 minutes). The top 10 position holders are-Bhupen Deka of Morigaon, Sanjay Bhumij of Tinsukia, Hemanta Roy of nikala, Bongaigaon, Pravesh Saini of Bangalore, Kuldeep Kumar of SBS gar, Punjab, Mansid Orea of Bhimpathar, Tinsukia and Bijay Deka of Jilroad of Jorhat.

Similarly, the champion of Gila competition, Bhalukjhora of Kokrajhar received Rs. 20,000 while second position holder Ghoskhata (B) and Gendrabilw of the same district received Rs. 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively. In Khomlaii, Udalguri district got the highest prize followed by Baksa and Kokrajhar. The Khomlaii competition was conducted in five categories for both male and female.

Around two lakh people enjoyed the traditiol hill trekking and Baokhungri festival.

Next Story