Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Barak students' body felicitates meritorious students

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 Jun 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SILCHAR, June 18: All Cachar-Karimganj-Hailakandi Students’ Association (ACKHSA) has felicitated meritorious students who have passed the Matriculation and Higher Secondary examitions held in the month of February and March. The programme was presided over by Dr. Tapodhir Bhattacharjee, former Vice-Chancellor, Assam University. The programme began with lighting of the lamp by the Pradeep Dutta Roy, founder-president of ACKHSA.

After the iugural song, one minute silence was maintained in fond memory of those unfortute passengers who have lost their lives in the Sopur mishap that took place on the night of June 14. In his iugural speech, Rupam ndi Purkayastha, advisor, ACKHSA, said, “It was under the leadership of Pradeep Dutta Roy that the association could stand up against all odds. ACKHSA’s 10 years long struggle resulted in the establishment of a central university. Students must engage themselves in various skill development programmes along with main course studies. They should be in a position to lead a good life.” He also acknowledged Pradeep Dutta Roy’s contribution towards ACKHSA.

Pradeep Dutta Roy, said, “The aim of education should not remain confined within the two most celebrated professions – engineer and doctor. There is life beyond these two professions. Students should feel inspired and move on about their life.

Students felicitated from Collegiate School, Silchar were Prithviraj Dey who secured 6th position in the Matriculation examition, Vikrant Dey, who got 9th place, and also secured the state highest marks in English, Sandipan Paul, who secured the 9th place. Poulomi Dam, student of Holy Cross School also got the 9th position, Aupratim Choudhury of the same school, securing the 15th position were felicitated on the occasion. Two students from Badarpur were also felicitated. They are Md. Foizul Ahmed who secured 12th place who wants to crack IIT and Md. Shakeel Ahmed who got the 20th place. Other students who were felicitated were Pragya th, Collegiate School, Rithika Paul, Holy Cross School, Tithi Paul Choudhury, Holy Cross School, Annesha Das, Holy Cross School. Akhil Agarwal who secured the 5th place in Higher Secondray examition in Commerce stream from Ramanuj Gupta Junior College of Science, Arts and Commerce was also felicitated. He got the state highest marks in Economics by scoring cent per cent marks.

Mentioned must be made here that all those who spoke on the occasion, advised the guardians of the students not to force them to opt any stream. They said that it is important for the students to choose streams of their interest. Some of the students also shared the same opinion. They also showed their gratitude towards their parents and teachers for their relentless help and guidance. The programme ended on a high note with the felicitation of Pradeep Dutta Roy by the members and workers of ACKHSA for his outstanding contribution towards the various movements, protests and demonstrations staged by the association. His contribution cannot be forgotten since he was there with ACKHSA in its worst of times.

Next Story