Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Barak Valley newspapers' association formed

Barak Valley

Sentinel Digital Desk

From Our Special Correspondent

Silchar, Feb 5: In order to protect the interests of the small and medium newspapers of Barak Valley and for state patroge, a broad based Barak Valley Small and Medium Newspapers' Association was formed at a meeting of jourlists on Sunday here. Various problems faced by these newspapers came in for detailed discussion. It was noted with concern that for the last few days, the DIPRO has stopped advertisements to the weekly and bi-weekly newspapers.

Besides, no approval is being given to the applications for publication of daily and weekly papers. Some newspapers for approval have applied after observing all the modalities to DIPRO. Despite all the relevant documents attached for approval, the DIPRO has forwarded them to the office of the Commissioner Secretary. But, it has been noted with regret that even after such procedural adherence, no approval is being accorded by the Assam Government. These two issues in particular were taken up for discussion at the meeting.

It was resolved that along with the usual advertisements to these newspapers, 1000 sq cm should also be added. It was further decided to discuss the matter in detail with Parimal Suklabaidya, Minister of PWD, Fisheries and Excise, and send a memorandum to the Chief Minister of Assam. Apart from that, identical memorandum should also be sent to the Chief Minster through the Deputy Commissioners of Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi. After all the discussion and resolutions, a full-fledged committee of Barak Valley Small and Medium Newspapers' Association was formed.

Sat Kairi, editor of Silchar Times, has been nomited as president. Other members on the committee are Nurul Huda Choudhury, working president (Anirban Shikha), vice presidents Manotosh Dhar (Abichar), Ainul Haque Mazumder (Dalim) and Jyotirindra Goswami (Andajyoti), Debal Adhikari, general secretary (Barak Darpan), Seema Kumari, assistant secretary (Prera Bharati), Santosh Chanda, treasurer (Barak Kantha), Meghth Kar, office secretary (Suveccha), Rafi Hasan Mazumder, organizing secretary (Dibakar) and Dilu Das, publicity secretary (Juba Darpan).

Other jourlists taken on executive committee are Partha Bhattacharjee (Vartalipi), Taz Uddin Barbhuiya (Ai To Swadesh), Dipan Dewanjee (Cachar Times), Mintu Lal Paul (Amar Uttar Purbanchal), Fosih Uddin Khan (Challenger Varta), Gautam Talukdar (Melbandhan), Ranu Dutta (Rabhumi) and Durba Sen (Purbashree). On the advisory body are Jyoti Lal Chowdhury (The Sentinel), Haran Dey (Simanter Prahari), former joint director of DIPRO, Barak Valley, Habibur Rahman Choudhury (babarta Prasanga) and Mihir Lal Roy, social activist.

Next Story