Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bishnupriya Manipuri bodies to honour Modi, Sonowal

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 Dec 2016 12:00 AM GMT

FROM OUR Correspondent

Silchar, Nov 30: Members of the central committee of Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Students’ Union (NBMSU) and Bishnupriya Manipuri Gasangram Parishad (BMGSP)’s decision to confer a number of prestigious awards on Prime Minister rendra Modi, Chief Minister Sarbanda Sonowal and State Education minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma, deserves special mention.

This decision was taken at a meeting held in memory of Dr Kaliprasad Smriti Dibyashram Sanskriti Kendra, at West Kachudaram, Chencoorie here. The occasion was special as they were observing the 123rd birth anniversary of Bishnupriya Manipuri Society’s first political stalwart, leader, poet, writer and social activist Gokalandagiti Swami.

Gokalandagiti Swami Award for political works 2016 and Gokalandagiti Swami Award for social works 2016 were also announced at the programme.

nda Kishore Singha, former MP and a frontline leader of Bishnupriya Manipuri Society has been also awarded for his outstanding service for more than 35 years. Gopaldas Sinha was also awarded Gokalandagiti Swami Award for Social Service for his unparalleled contribution towards the society. Poet, writer, Shyamanda Singha also a member of Bishnupriya Manipuri Sahitya Sabha, presented the award.

The programme began with the paying of floral tribute to Gokalandagiti Swami which was done by Rajkumar Anil Krish, former president of the central committee and chief advisor of central advisory board.

The programme was graced by the presence of Gopaldas Sinha, an extraordiry frontline leader and chief advisor of Bishnupriya Manipuri Language Teachers’ Training Diploma Holders’ Association, Tombak Se Singha, a recipient of Dr B R Ambedkar Social Service Award and also a revolutiory figure and rendra Chandra Singha, litterateur, poet, writer and editor and general secretary of Bishnupriya Sahitya Manipuri Sabha.

Next Story