Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP, ATTSA & AMSU workers join Congress

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From A Correspondent

Doomdooma, Dec 22: In a significant development of declaration of Gujrat and Himachal Pradesh election results, a sizeable numbers of Bhartiya Jata Party (BJP), Assam Tea-Tribes Students Association (ATTSA) and All Moran Students Union (AMSU) workers formally joined Indian tiol Congress in presence of MLA Durga Bhumij at Rajiv Bhaban, Doomdooma on Wednesday. Of these the highest numbers of workers are from BJP totalling 62 followed by Assam Tea-Tribes Students Association (ATTSA) 10 Nos., All Moran Students Union (AMSU), 9 Nos. and others 29 Nos. mostly belonging to tea-tribe community.

The significant aspect of this is that as against BJP making its inroads into the Tea- belt of Upper Assam in last 2016 Assembly election, Vice-President, ATTSA, Rupaisiding Sub-Branch Committee, Ramdhan Tanti along with nine other members joined Congress (I). In the like manner all the 62 BJP workers are from Ward Nos.7,9 and 10 of Dangari T.E. and belong to Tea-Tribes community.

Similarly, former Secretary, AMSU, Daisa Branch, Anta Moran along with eight others too joined Congress (I). BJP had been able to make its dent into the Moran community in garnering its support in 2011 Assembly election in having Dilip Moran as its MLA in a Constituency regarded as a Congress fortress since independence.

However now Durga Bhumij is the lone Congress (I) MLA from Sadiya in the North to Jorhat down South. Another important person to have joined Congress (I) is Sabitri Tanti, an independent Anchalik Panchayat member who fought previous Panchayat election as an independent. She too joined Congress (I) along with thirteen other well-wishers expressing their allegiance and faith in favour of Indian tiol Congress. Besides them, fifteen others hailing from Daimukhia T.E. and belonging to tea-tribes community also joined the bandwagon in joining Congress (I).

Next Story