Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP bags eight seats in Barak Valley

BJP bags eight seats in Barak Valley

Sentinel Digital Desk

Assembly Elections 2016


Silchar, May 19: As the results of assembly election of the state have been declared, people got a clear picture that BJP is going to form the next government. In the three districts of Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi, it bagged as many as 8 seats in its kitty. In Cachar, it won 6 seats out of the 7 seats, while in Karimganj it bagged 2 seats. AIUDF bagged 5 seats and Congress 3 only. It is quite surprising that in Cachar, Congress had won 6 seats in the last assembly election and BJP could merely sustain its existence by winning the assembly seat of Silchar. But, now the picture has altered, BJP got 6 seats and Congress has to remain with its lone seat of Lakhipur.

In Cachar district, BJP candidates Dilip Kumar Paul from Silchar, Aminul Haque Laskar from Soi, Parimal Suklabaidya from Dholai, Mihir Kanti Shome from Udharbond, Kishor th from Borkhola and Amar Chand Jain from Katigorah constituencies have marked their victory. Rajdeep Goala of Lakhipur constituency is the only Congress candidate to bag a seat for the party. Heavy weight minister of Congress party, Ajit Singh, who has never lost the Udharbond assembly seat in his political career, also faced defeat from BJP candidate Mihir Kanti Shome.

In Hailakandi district, all the three assembly seats were won by AIUDF. Frontline leader of Congress party, Gautam Roy, minister and advisor to Chief Minister, who has been winning from Katlicherra assembly seat for the last 30 years, had to face defeat from Suzam Uddin Laskar of AIUDF.

Hailakandi and Algapur assembly seats were also won by Anwar Hussain Laskar and Nizam Uddin Choudhury respectively of AIUDF.

In Karimganj district, BJP and Congress won 2 seats each and AIUDF 1. In Ratabari constituency, Kripath Mallah and in Patharkandi constituency, Krishnendu Paul of BJP won the seats.

In North Karimganj constituency Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha and in Badarpur constituency Jamal Uddin Ahmed of Congress won the seats.

In South Karimganj constituency Aziz Ahmed Khan of AIUDF defeated Congress minister Siddeque Ahmed who has been winning the seat for the last 3 terms.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News