Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP captures Rangia constituency for the first time after Independence

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Rangia, May 19: BJP and its alliance parties captured four constituencies out of six in Kamrup district. The other two constituencies were captured by the Congress.

BJP and AGP candidates won in Rangia, Kamalpur, Hajo and Palashbari constituencies. On the other hand, Boko and Chhaygaon constituencies were captured by the Congress. Bhabesh Kalita (BJP) won by margin of 32,067 votes. Kalita got 58,294 votes while Ghashyam Kalita, MLA and Parliamentary Secretary got only 26,287 votes in Rangia constituency. After Independence, BJP has captured Rangia constituency for the first time.

In Kamalpur constituency, Satyabrata Kalita (AGP) got 78,171 votes while Pranjit Chowdhury of Congress got 41,395 votes. He won by a margin of 45,776 votes. In Palashbari constituency Prab Kalita of BJP got 75,130 votes whereas bajyoti Talukder of Congress got only 26,438 votes. In Hajo constituency, the daughter of MP Bijaya Chakraborty, Suman Haripriya ( BJP ) got 54,995 votes and Dulu Ahmed of Congress got 46,113 votes. In Boko constituency, ndita Das of Congress got 69,893 votes while her nearest rival JP Das (BJP) got 52,293 votes. Chhaygaon constituency was recaptured by Rekibuddin Ahmed, MLA and Parliamentary Secretary. He got 72,073 votes. His nearest rival, former minister Dr Kamala Kalita (AGP) got 64,216 votes.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News