Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP wins Telanga council seat

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  27 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Hyderabad, March 26: The ruling TRS in Telanga received a jolt on Wednesday with the opposition BJP-TDP alliance bagging one of the two seats of the legislative council that went to polls on Sunday. The Bharatiya Jata Party’s Ramachandra Rao won the election from Hyderabad-Ranga Reddy-Mahabubgar graduates’ constituency, defeating his nearest rival Devi Prasad of the Telanga Rashtra Samithi by 13,318 votes. Rao polled 53,881 votes while Prasad secured 40,563 votes. The main opposition Congress got only 2,856 votes. In Khammam-lgonda-Warangal graduates’ constituency, TRS candidate Rajeswar Reddy was leading over BJP candidate by 1,657 votes at the end of second round of counting, poll officials said on Wednesday night. According to the Election Commission, of the 296,318 electors, about 39 percent exercised their franchise in Hyderabad-Ranga Reddy-Mahabubgar graduates’ constituency. In Khammam-lgonda-Warangal graduates’ constituency, nearly 51 percent of the 281,138 voters casted their votes. (IANS)

Next Story