Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP wins two seats, Congress one in Kartaka bypolls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Feb 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Bengaluru, Feb 16: The opposition Bharatiya Jata Party on Tuesday won two seats and the ruling Congress one seat in the by-elections held to the state assembly in Kartaka. The BJP’s Y.A. rayaswamy won from the high-profile Hebbal assembly segment of the Bengaluru North parliamentary constituency by 19,149 votes, defeating C.K. Abdul Rahman Sharief of the Congress and Ismail Sharieff of the Jata Dal-Secular (JD-S). rayaswamy, a two-time lawmaker from the state legislative council, bagged 60,367 votes, while Abdul, the grandson of former union minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief, secured 41,218 votes and 3,666 votes. Similarly, in the Scheduled Tribes (ST) reserved Devadurga constituency in Raichur district, about 510 km from Bengaluru, the BJP’s K. Shiva Gouda yak won by 16,871 votes, defeating A. Rajashekhara yak of the Congress and Karemma G. yak of the JD-S.
In a family battle, the contestants being relatives, Shiva polled 72,647 votes, while Rajashekhara got 55,776 and Karemma 9,156 votes. In Bidar in the state’s north, about 690 km from here, Congress nominee Rahim Khan won by 22,721 votes, defeating Prakash Khandre of the BJP and Md Ayaz Khan of the JD-S. Rahim polled 70,138 votes, Prakash 47,417 and Ayaz 4,421.
Hebbal registered the lowest voting of 45 percent in the bypolls on Saturday, while it was 61 percent in Bidar and 67 percent (the highest) in Devadurga. The BJP retained Hebbal and wrested Devadurga from the Congress, while the ruling party wrested Bidar from the BJP. The by-elections were necessitated by the death of lawmakers — R. Jagadish Kumar of the BJP from Hebbal, Gurupadappa gamarapalli of the BJP from Bidar, and Venkatesh ik of the Congress from Devadurga. (IANS)

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News