Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bongaigaon remains AGP bastion, Phani Bhusan Choudhury wins seventh term

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Congress MLA Chandan Sarkar, AGP legislator Bhupen Ray crash to defeat,BPF sweeps Chirang district

From our Correspondent

Bongaigaon, May 19: Creating history in the politics of Assam, Phani Bhusan Choudhury, the BJP- AGP candidate from 32 Bongaigaon LAC won again for the seventh consecutive time. He has been winning this seat since 1985.

Talking to media persons, Choudhury said that it was the love and faith of the people of Bongaigaon that had given him this grand victory. “My dedication for development of this area is known to everyone. My ambition for development of Bongaigaon is not in any single sector. Overall development of Bongaigaon is my aim. I had worked since the last 30 years with this aim and will continue doing so in the future also,” he said. Regarding ministerial berth, he said that everything would be discussed later. “Now I have nothing to say in this regard,” he said.

Phani Bhusan Choudhury, the unbeaten hero of Bongaigaon, grabbed 77,134 votes in this election while his nearest rival Sankar Prasad Ray from INC received 45,920 votes out of the total 1,37,720 cast votes (NOTA: 2371).

On the other hand, in 35 South Abhayapuri constituency, Congress Minister and MLA Chandan Sarkar was defeated by AIUDF candidate Anta Kumar Malo. The AIUDF candidate got 51,525 votes whereas Chandan Sarkar got 51,334 votes. In the same way, in 34 no North Abhayapuri constituency, sitting AGP MLA Bhupen Ray was defeated by INC candidate Abdul High gori who got 45,690 votes whereas Bhupen Ray got 45,503 votes.

In Chirang, BPF again grabbed both the constituencies. In 31 No Sidli (ST) constituency, BPF-BJP-AGP candidate Chandan Brahma secured 66,037 votes and defeated his nearest rival candidate Rwngwra rzary of UPP-INC alliance. Rwngwra got total 57,049 votes. In the same way, in 33 no Bijni constituency, Kamal Sing rzary from BPF won again. He defeated his nearest rival candidate Ajay Kumar Ray of Bharatiya Ga Parishad. Kamal Sing rzary got 29,240 votes whereas Ajay Kumar Ray got 27,562 votes.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News