Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Cameron mes his first all-Conservative cabinet

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 May 2015 12:00 AM GMT

London, May 10: British Prime Minister David Cameron has formed his first all-Conservative cabinet after his party stormed to victory in this year’s general election, Downing Street announced on Sunday.

The new cabinet saw most of Cameron’s close allies retaining their jobs, including Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne, Home Secretary Theresa May, Foreign Secretary Philip Hammond and Defence Secretary Michael Fallon.

Osborne also became first secretary of state, an honorific title implying seniority over other ministers, Xinhua reported.

Michael Gove, the former government chief whip of the House of Commons, was appointed lord chancellor and secretary of state for justice, succeeding Chris Grayling, who was appointed lord president of the council and leader of the House of Commons.

Nicky Morgan remained as secretary of state for education and minister for women and equalities, while former immigration minister Mark Harper was made the new chief whip.

Tens of ministers and senior officials have resigned from the government, including former deputy prime minister Nick Clegg, whose Liberal Democrats party suffered disastrous defeat in the general election.

Other notable Liberal Democrat ministers stepping down from government include former chief secretary to the Treasury Danny Alexander, former business secretary Vincent Cable, and former energy and climate change secretary Edward Davey. The Conservative Party won 331 out of a total of 650 seats in the general election held on Thursday, securing the first Conservative majority in parliament since 1997.

Labour Party leader Ed Miliband, Liberal Demacrats leader Nick Clegg and UK Independence Party (UKIP) leader Nigel Farage have all resigned following defeats in the general election. (IANS)

Next Story