Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Chile coach Rueda mes three teegers for intertiol friendlies

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Santiago, March 3: Chile football team coach Reildo Rueda has included three teegers in his squad for intertiol friendlies against Sweden and Denmark this month. Among those called up on Friday were 19-year-old Deportes Temuco defender Diego Cayupil, 18-year-old O’ Higgins midfielder Matias Sepulveda and 19-year-old Universidad Catolica forward David Henriquez, reports Xinhua news agency.

The average age of the 24-man squad is 22 and all the players are based in Chile. “The aim to get to know some of the players who could be selected for the tiol team in the future,” Reildo said. The reigning Copa America champions will face Sweden at Friends Are in Sol on March 24 before an encounter against Denmark at Copenhagen’s Aalborg Stadium three days later.

The matches will mark the debut of Rueda as Chile’s tiol team coach. The Colombian began a four-year contract with the Roja last month, replacing Juan Antonio Pizzi, who departed in October after the team failed to qualify for the 2018 World Cup. Sweden and Denmark both qualified for football’s biggest tourment, which will be played in 11 Russian cities from June 14 to July 15. Chile squad: Goalkeepers: Gonzalo Collao (Cobreloa), Brayan Cortes (Colo Colo), Yerko Urra (Huachipato), Nelson Espinoza (San Luis de Quillota). Defenders: Jose Bizama (Huachipato), Felipe Campos (Colo Colo), Diego Cayupil (Deportes Temuco), Valber Huerta (Huachipato), Oscar Opazo (Colo Colo), Gabriel Suazo (Colo Colo), Brayan Vejar (Colo Colo), Branco Ampuero (Universidad Catolica), Raul Osorio (O’Higgins). Midfielders: Claudio Baeza (Colo Colo), Jaime Carreno (Universidad Catolica), Carlos Lobos (Universidad Catolica), Jimmy Martinez (Huachipato), Lorenzo Reyes (Universidad de Chile), Marcos Bolados (Universidad Catolica), Matias Sepulveda (O’Higgins). Forwards: Igcio Jeraldino (Audax Italiano), Nicolas Orella (Colo Colo), Andres Vilches (Universidad Catolica), David Henriquez (Universidad Catolica). (IANS)

Next Story