Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Citizens' meet held in Dibrugarh, slams Centre

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 Oct 2016 12:00 AM GMT


DIBRUGARH, Oct 17: Reiterating the ongoing backlashes on the recent notification by which all Hindu Bangladeshi foreigners will be granted the right to citizenship who had entered the country before December, 2014, the conscious citizens of Dibrugarh town in a significant meeting held here at Amolapatty tya Mandir on Sunday came down heavily on the Central Government for its move to grant citizenship to Hindu Bangladeshis.

The meeting stated that no foreigner would be accepted to the State who had entered Assam after March 24, 1971 as validated under the historic Assam Accord.

A decision was taken in the meeting to organize a mammoth citizen’s rally to battle out the conspiracy being played out to dwindle the indigenous populace of the State by the Central Government through the amendment of the Citizenship Act that would grant the illegal Hindu Bangladeshi’s legal right to inhabit in the state. The meeting called upon all to extend their support in the movement to secure resources, tradition and educatiol rights of the people of the State.

The meeting further resolved to stand against the unconstitutiol dictates’ of the BJP party and the government if they forcefully try to dump the illegal Bangladeshi migrants into the state and that under no circumstances the people of the State would allow safronisation policies of the BJP party and the Sangh Parivar to diminish state’s indigenous people. The meeting also discussed at length the conditions of the Tripuri community at Tripura and the Koch people at Bongo and decided to extend moral support to their struggle for identity.

A 21-member conveners’ committee was formed in the meeting , which included the mes of prominent residents and jourlist of Dibrugarh town like Durga Borthakur , Poran , Bokul Boruah, Jitul Sarma, Partha Pratim Buragohain, Dipom Boruah, Chandrakanta Boruah, Shashanka Neog, Anil Dowerah , Ikbal Ahmed , Manjit Borah, Rupth Mili , Poragjyoti Boruah, Rewati Roy Choudhury, Abani Sarma , Ra Dowrah and rayan Bhuyan.

Next Story