Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CM to attend diamond jubilee celebration of Bajali College

CM to attend diamond jubilee celebration of Bajali College

Sentinel Digital Desk

From a Correspondent

PATHSALA, Aug 5: Brisk preparation is on for the concluding function of the diamond jubilee celebration year of Bajali College, which will soon become Bhattadev University, in Bajali subdivision of Barpeta district. Chief Minister Sarbanda Sonowal along with State Education Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will grace the occasion, informed college sources. The three-day function will begin on August 16. The programme will begin in the morning with the hoisting of the glorious flag of the college by S Talukdar, president of the governing body as well as the president of the celebration committee of the college, on August 16. As many as 63 flags will also be hoisted to mark the 63th establishment day of the college. Dr. Manoj Kumar Mahanta, present Principal and secretary of the celebration committee of diamond jubilee, will pay floral tribute at the portrait of Kameswar Das, the founder Principal of the college.

Smriti tarpan will be done by Pabindra Deka, MLA Patacharkuchi LAC. After the plantation programme, the exhibition will be declared open by Prer Sarma, SDO ( c) Bajali. A lecture on 'Globalization and its overall social impact' in memory of Rajendra th Sarma, who rendered service as Principal of the college for 28 years, will be delivered by Deben Dutta, retired Vice-Principal of Cotton College.

On second day of the celebration, a cultural procession will be taken out in the locality. Krish Roy, producer of the Anbahan Theatre, will kick off the procession formally. Alumni, students and staff will come together for a get-together to be held as a mark of respect to retired Vice-Principal of the college, Anta Talukdar.

The open meeting on August 18 will be graced by the Chief Minister and the State Education Minister, besides a host of dignitaries. Dr. Mridul Hazarika, Vice-Chancellor of Gauhati University, will be the appointed speaker, Ranjit Dass, State BJP president will also attend as an invited guest. The souvenir will be released by Dipak Kumar Sarma, Vice-Chancellor of Kumar Bhaskar University while Pabindra Deka will be the guest of honour.

Next Story