Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

College students' union election results declared

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 Oct 2017 12:00 AM GMT


KALAIGAON, Oct 17: The Kalaigaon unit of All Assam Bengali Youth Student Federation (AABYSF) congratulated Phulen Das for being elected as the secretary of Kalaigaon College students’ Union on Monday. Phulen Das defeated his nearest AJYCP candidate Jintumanimani th by 55 votes. Phulen Das got 239 votes while Jintumanimani got only 184 votes. Debashis Mandal, secretary, and Bikash Devth, president of Kalaigaon AABYSF, said that it was a matter of great joy as the AABYSF had won for first time in Kalaigaon College students’ union poll. Kalaigaon AABYSF also organized a function to felicitate the candidate at AABYSF’s office which is situated near Ramjaki Mandir of Kalaigaon town.

The student body expressed deep concern at the incident of stone pelting at the Principal of Kalaigaon College by unknown miscreants after election results were declared. Arabinda Das, Principal of Kalaigaon College, also condemned the incident. Meanwhile, more than 100 agitators of Kalaigaon AASU staged a two-hour road blockade programme on Tuesday in front of Kalaigaon College gate in protest against the election system. They alleged that the election was not conducted systematically. Kalaigaon AASU demanded to hold the election again.

Next Story