Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Come September, four Saarc tions start free vehicular movement

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 Jun 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Kathmandu, June 18: In a major step towards sub-regiol cooperation that is bound to have far-reaching consequences in terms of economic development and security, four Saarc tions - Bangladesh, Bhutan, India and Nepal (BBIN) - will start unhindered vehicular movement between them from September this year. Nepal’s Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport Bimalendra Nidhi said on Thursday that direct vehicular movement among the four member countries of the South Asian Association for Regiol Cooperation will kick off from September 18. The four countries inked the BBIN Motor Vehicle Agreement in Bhutan’s capital Thimphu on Monday. Minister Nidhi, who returned from the Indian capital New Delhi on Thursday after meeting with India’s Exterl Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, and other senior government officials, said this while addressing the media at the Tribhuvan Intertiol Airport here. He said all the bilateral agreements among the BBIN countries for implementation of the newly inked accord will be made by mid-September so that regulations of passenger and cargo vehicular traffic among the four Saarc countries could come into effect from September 18. Nepal and India have already signed the Motor Vehicle Agreement during the 18th Saarc Summit held in Kathmandu last November. (IANS)

Next Story