Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Cong resolves issues in 3 seats

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  6 Feb 2018 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Shillong, Feb 5: After much delay, the Congress has filly been able to zero in on the remaining three candidates in Khliehriat, South Shillong and Pynthorumkhrah constituencies.

Meghalaya Pradesh Working Committee (MPCC) working president Vincent H Pala on Monday said that the mes of the three candidates would be made public only on Tuesday.

“Initially the party was finding difficulty for zeroing in on candidates in these seats,” Pala told mediapersons.

The first list of Congress candidates for polls in Meghalaya was declared on January 27.

But for the first time the party failed in declaring all the mes at one go as the Congress was finding difficulty in finding suitable candidates.

Pala, who is also the Lok Sabha MP, said the mes to be declared by the party for these three seats are strong contenders and will give a tough fight to the BJP.

According to MPCC sources, ex-MLA Mas Chaudhari who was aspiring for a BJP from South Shillong may make a comeback to the Congress. Chaudhari had contested the 2013 polls on a Congress ticket but lost out to Sanbor Shullai who had then won from the NCP.

Chaudhari, who had joined the BJP last year, had already quit the saffron party after he was denied ticket. Pala revealed that in Pynthorumkhrah constituency the Congress had approached sitting Khasi Hill Autonomous District Council member Ban Basaiawmoit, but he did not accept the offer. Basaiawmoit who is already in the fray will be contesting from the newly formed People’s Democratic Front.

“We are left with no other option but to award the ticket to Shngain Rumnong who is the only applicant for the party ticket,” Pala said.

In the three constituencies, the legislators who represented these seats were either Congress members of allies of the party.

Pynthorumkhrah was represented by Congress MLA Alexander L Hek. Similarly, Shullai, an NCP member, was an ally of the Congress and Justine Dkhar Independent legislator from Khliehriat had supported the Congress-led-MUA-II government. They quit the House on January 2 to join the BJP.

Next Story