Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Congress heavyweight Pradyut Bordoloi defeated

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Margherita, May 19: 124 no. Margherita LAC has been a Congress bastion since Independence but today’s result came as a shock to Congress candidate and former Power Minister Pradyut Bordoloi who was defeated by BJP candidate Bhaskar Sharma by 22,752 votes.

Pradyut Bordoloi got 53,620 votes while BJP candidate Bhaskar Sharma got 76,362 votes, Independent candidates such as Nidan Purty got 1,332 votes, Bishwath Singha got 1,306 votes, Umesh Bora got 1,289 votes, Puran Chetry got 690 votes and None of the Above (NOTA) option got 2,137 votes.

BJP candidate Bhaskar Sharma said, “This win is the victory of the people of Margherita who votes for change.” More than 10,000 supporters of BJP gathered and a huge welcome ceremony was held at Margherita town for winning BJP candidate Bhaskar Sharma.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News