Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Congress MLA disqualified from Tripura Assembly

Congress MLA disqualified from Tripura Assembly

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 Jan 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Anti-defection law

Agartala, Jan 12: Five-time Congress legislator in Tripura Ratan Lal th, who last month joined the Bharatiya Jata Party (BJP), lost his assembly membership under the anti-defection law, Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debth said here on Friday.

“As Ratan Lal th left Congress and joined BJP on December 22, his assembly membership would be disqualified from that date under the Schedule 10 of the Constitution (which deals with the anti-defection law),” Debth said after issuing an order on Friday.

State Congress President Birajit Sinha, in a letter, informed MER that th had joined BJP and also demanded he be disqualified from the assembly membership. I have served two notices to him (th) to attend the hearings of his case. But th informed that he was unwell. “With prior notice, I have taken ex-parte decision on th’s disqualification. This is for the first time in the history of Tripura a sitting member was disqualified under the anti-defection law,” he said.

Welcoming the Speaker’s decision, Congress state vice president Tapas Dey said: “Opportunistic politics must be curbed and value-based politics must be upheld.”

After months of hobnobbing, th, former Opposition Leader of Tripura assembly, joined the Bharatiya Jata Party on December 22 last year in the presence of the BJP’s General Secretary Ram Madhav, Assam Ministers Himanta Biswa Sarma and Parimal Sukla Baidya, Tripura BJP President Biplab Kumar Deb and a host of party leaders.

The 71-year-old th held various posts in Congress and since 1993, was elected five times as Congress candidate from the Mohanpur assembly constituency in western Tripura. With this, the Congress strength in the outgoing assembly has been reduced to just two from the origil ten. The Communist Party of India-Marxist led Left Front has 51 members with the CPI-M alone having 50 legislators.(IANS)

Next Story