Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Congress wins Liromoba seat by 119 votes

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Feb 2015 12:00 AM GMT


Itagar, February 16: Congress retained the Liromoba seat in the February 13 by-election, counting for which was held today.

Congress candidate Nyamar Karbak won from the constituency by a slender margin of 119 votes in a multi-cornered contest, election office sources informed. While Karbak polled 3, 808 votes, BJP nominee Bai Gadi polled 3,689 votes followed by Independent candidates Lijum Ronya (2,589), Lijum Ronya, Raksap Yomcha (355) and Johny Tali could secure only 40 votes. Nine voters also opted for NOTA, deputy chief electoral officer DJ Bhattacharjee informed. Around 90 per cent turnout of total 11,640 electorates including 6020 female voters were recorded during the polling day.

By-election was necessitated following untimely demise of former chief minister Jarbom Gamlin, who died in a private hospital at Gurgaon on November 30 last year. With the win, the Congress in the state has 47 MLAs in a 60-member house while opposition BJP has 11 legislators and two independents.

Next Story