Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Constantine mes probable squad for Puerto Rico match

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 Aug 2016 12:00 AM GMT

New Delhi, Aug 25 : India football head coach Stephen Constantine on Thursday announced a 28-member probable squad for the forthcoming intertiol friendly against Puerto Rico.

The match will be played at the Andheri Sports Complex in Mumbai on September 3.

This will be the first ever official intertiol match in Mumbai in 61 years since India last played USSR in 1955, according to an All India Football Federation (AIFF) release.

This is also the first time ever that a team from the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) region will be officially playing in India.

Puerto Rico are placed 114 in the rankings. India are 152nd.

"It's a hugely important match for the people in Maharashtra that intertiol football is back in Mumbai after a long gap. Mumbai, as vibrant as ever, has been known for its football culture and I hope the Indian fans will be turning up to support and cheer from the stands. It's important that we have a good crowd,” Constantine said in the release.

“The buzz in Mumbai is something that the team is looking forward to. Persolly for me, all the cosmopolitan cities of the country should be ready to host the tiol team," he added.

Constantine informed that all the players would be reporting to the camp on August 28 with practice sessions beginning next day.

Commenting on Puerto Rico, the coach maintained that it would be an “extremely tough” match.

“Puerto Rico were the best movers in the rankings in July 2016. I have been watching some of their matches and they boast about a lot of players who play in quality Leagues all over the World including Europe and the USA,” he stated.

The 28-member India squad:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh.

Defenders: Rino Anto, Sandesh Jhingan, Arb Mondal, Keegan Pereira, Chinglensa Singh, Pritam Kotal, rayan Das, Fulganco Cardozo.

Midfielders: Vinit Rai, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Proy Halder, Jackichand Singh, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Bikash Jairu, Udanta Singh, Halicharan rzary, Rowlin Borges, Alwyn George, Germanpreet Singh, Md. Rafique, Arjun Tudu.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi. IANS

Next Story