Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Copa America to feature six CONCACAF teams

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  7 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Rio de Janeiro, Nov 6: The 2016 Copa America centery edition will include 10 teams from South America and six from Central America, North America and the Caribbean, officials have said. The tourment will be played in the US from June 2-26 with the host cities yet to be confirmed, South American football’s governing body Conmebol said in a statement on Friday. Football’s oldest continental competition will be held outside of its normal four-year cycle to commemorate its 100th anniversary. Each of Conmebol’s 10 member-tions are automatically guaranteed a berth while Concacaf’s Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica and Jamaica have also booked their places. Pama, Cuba, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago will compete for three remaining spots at a January tourment in Pama. IANS

Next Story