Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CPI and independent candidates file nomition for Sivasagar LAC

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, March 16: Communist Party of India (CPI) candidate Jiten Borpatra Goahain and one Independent candidate Binoy Tamuli filed their nomitions for the 108 Sivasagar LAC on Wednesday.

Both Gohain and Tamuli filed their nomitions before Virendra Mittal, Deputy Commissioner of Sivasagar who is also the Returning Officer for 108 Sivasagar LAC. While the last date of filing nomitions for the polls is April 18, scrutiny will be held on April 19, withdrawal on April 20 and polling will be held on April 4.

Meanwhile, Indian tiol Congress (INC) party workers and supporters organized a huge bike rally in Sivasagar today to welcome Prab Gogoi who has got the ticket to contest in the election from 108 Sivasagar LAC. Earlier, Gogoi was excluded from the list of probable candidates due to some interl party conflicts. Gogoi was welcomed from mdang Shila Shaku.

Prab Gogoi, the veteran Congress leader, who had represented Sivasagar constituency for three consecutive terms since 2001, was also the Law, Sericulture and Handloom and Textile Minister and Speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly.

Next Story