Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Cricketer Aakash Chopra retires

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  7 Feb 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Mumbai, Feb 6: Former Indian Test opener Aakash Chopra Friday announced his retirement from all forms of cricket.

The 37–year–old played 10 Test matches during the 2003–04 season. In his Test career, Chopra scored 437 runs at an average of 23. The former Delhi Ranji team captain scored both his half–centuries against New Zealand at Mohali.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Sanjay Patel sent a congratulatory message to Aakash and wished him well on his future endeavours.

"Aakash Chopra was one of the best opening batsmen produced by the country. He had a long and illustrious first–class career, and was part of Delhi and Rajasthan teams that won the Ranji Trophy," Patel said in a statement.

"He was a key member of the Indian team that created history in 2003–04 by winning a Test series in Pakistan. On behalf of the BCCI, I would like to congratulate him on a memorable innings and wish him all the best for his future."

Aakash is more remembered for his crucial role in India’s away series against Australia and Pakistan. He played a perfect foil for destructive opener Virender Sehwag against Australia during the four–match series that ended 1–1.

He was dropped from the team after an unimpressive performance in the home series against Australia in 2004.

However, he was a giant in domestic cricket having scored 10,839 runs from 162 first–class matches with 29 centuries and a highest score of 301.

Aakash debuted for Delhi in 1997–98 season and in 2010, decided to move on to Rajasthan. He helped Rajasthan become the first Plate division team to win the Ranji Trophy followed by another Ranji trophy win in the 2011–12 season.

He later moved to Himachal Pradesh and represented them in the domestic Twenty20 tourment –– Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Aakash also played for Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League (IPL). IANS

Next Story