Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CSWO files fresh PIL in HC seeking disqualification of ten legislators

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 Aug 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SHILLONG, Aug 29: A fresh PIL has been filed against ten legislators of Meghalaya who were also Members of District Councils (MDCs) on Monday with a plea to set aside an order passed by Governor, V. Shanmugathan.

The new PIL was filed by Civil Society Women Organisation (CSWO) president Agnes Kharshiing a week after the Meghalaya High Court stated that one does not attract disqualification for holding the dual post of MLA and MDC.

Meghalaya has three autonomous district councils created under Sixth Schedule of the Constitution - the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC), Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (JHADC), and Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC).

The MLAs whose mes figured in the PIL for disqualification for they became members of the district councils too include, Sohiong MLA, H.D.R. Lyngdoh, Shillong South MLA, Sanbor Shullai, Nongkrem MLA, Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit, Mawsynram MLA and KHADC, Chief Executive Member, PN Syiem, Mairang MLA, Metbah Lyngdoh, Mawthadraishan MLA, Brolding H. Nongsiej and Rambrai-Jyrngam MLA P.K. Pangniang (were elected as members of the KHADC), Amlarem MLA, Stephanson Mukhim (elected as member of JHADC) and Kharkutta MLA, Cherak W. Momin and Bajengdoba MLA, Brigady Marak (were members of GHADC).

Kharshiing sought the disqualification of ten MLAs who became members of the three ADCs, on the ground that they had violated rule 17 (1) (a) of the Assam and Meghalaya Autonomous Districts (Constitution of District Councils) rules, 1951 and also having contravened Article 191 (1) (a) of the Constitution.

Next Story