Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Curfew continues only in 3 south Kashmir districts

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 July 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Kashmir, July 28: Authorities on Thursday continued curfew only in three south Kashmir districts of Antg, Kulgam and Pulwama. “Curfew will continue today (Thursday) in Antg, Kulgam and Pulwama districts. Restrictions have been imposed in Shopian, Kupwara and Sopore towns,” a senior police official said. “Prohibitory orders under section 144 continue to remain in force in Srigar city,” he added.

Curfew had to be re-imposed in Srigar on Wednesday after senior separatist leaders, Syed Ali Geelani and Mirwaiz Umer Farooq defied house arrest and took to the streets. They were both arrested and placed under house arrest. Separatists had called for a march in Kulgam district which was foiled by the authorities. A total of 50 people including 48 civilians and two policemen have been killed in widespread violence in the Valley that started on July 9, a day after Hizbul commander, Burhan Wani was killed. All educatiol institutions including schools, colleges and universities have remained closed. All public transport including the train services between Baramulla and Jammu’s Bannihal town remained closed for the 19th day on Thursday. (IANS)

Next Story