Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Darrang district administration to ensure transparency in counting of votes

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

MANGALDAI, May 17: “The Darrang district administration has made all arrangements to ensure a transparent, error-free counting of votes on May 19 for all the four assembly constituencies mely Kalaigaon, Sipajhar, Mangaldai and Dalgaon under the Darrang election district and we are hopeful to get a positive response from the contesting candidates, political parties, election agents and the counting agents including the members of the media fraternity” said Darrang Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer, Manoj Kumar while addressing a press conference at the conference hall of the DC’s office on Tuesday afternoon.

Meanwhile as a part of this preparation for counting of votes, the second and fil phase of training for the officials engaged in the process of counting has also been conducted here in the district library auditorium. All the micro-observers, counting supervisors and counting assistants engaged participated in the day-long training. On the other hand, training for the authorized counting agents of political parties and contesting candidates was also arranged on Tuesday. The Deputy Commissioner in the press meet made it clear that no candidates or political parties would be allowed to organize any victory rally or procession without the prior permission from the district administration. District Development Commissioner Ranjit Kalita, Additiol Deputy Commissioners Dharmanda Barua, Bidyut Bikash Bhagawati and ra rayan th, Additiol Superintendent of Police Suman Chakravorty, Election Officer Rahul Chandra Das and DIPRO Samar Kalita were also present in the press meet.

According to the Deputy Commissioner Manoj Kumar, there will be four separate counting halls from each of the assembly constituencies while each of the counting halls will contain 14 counting tables in addition to a separate table for the respective Returning Officers for tabulation. In each of the counting tables there will one counting assistant, one counting supervisor and a micro-observer from Central Government organizations. The counting which will start at 8 am, will first be carried out for postal ballots. However, the results of all the constituencies are expected to come out by 2 pm. Four observers deputed by Election Commission of India will monitor the entire counting process in all the four constituencies.

Meanwhile a meeting of the contesting candidates, their agents and the Returning Officers of the assembly constituencies was organized in Deputy Commissioner’s conference hall here recently to discuss the Do’s and Don’ts on the part of the counting agents inside the counting hall campus. Election Officer Rahul Ch Das in his address sensitized them about the strict prohibition of carrying mobile phones, any other electronic instruments and contraband substances inside the makeshift counting hall campus in Mangaldai College.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News