Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Dharamsala among six new Test venues as BCCI announces 2016-17 schedule

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Jun 2016 12:00 AM GMT

New Delhi, June 9 : Keeping its commitment of taking Test cricket to lesser known cities, the Board of Control for cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced six new Test venues for the tiol team’s fixtures in the coming season.

Rajkot, Visakhapatm, Pune, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Indore will host Test matches for the first time in the forthcoming season where India will be playing 13 Test matches, eight One-Day Intertiols (ODIs), and three Twenty20 Intertiols (T20Is).

The home season will start with three Tests and five ODIs against New Zealand in October followed by five Tests, three ODIs and as many T20Is against England in November and December.

The Test series against the Kiwis will be played at Indore, Kanpur and Kolkata while Dharamsala, New Delhi, Mohali, Ranchi and Visakhapatm will host the five ODIs.

Mohali, Rajkot, Mumbai, Visakhapatm and Cheni will host the Tests against England while Pune, Cuttack and Kolkata will be the venues for the ODIs.

Bengaluru, gpur and Kanpur will hold the three T20Is.

The 2017 season will witness Australia touring India for four Test matches in February and March while Bangladesh is slated to play a solitary Test in India.

Bengaluru, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Pune will host Australia while the Test against Bangladesh will be played at Hyderabad.

All these venues will get matches subject to the condition that they have numbered the seats in the stadiums and fulfil all the guidelines laid down by the BCCI. IANS

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News