Discontent with AXX leadership, new literary body formed

file photo

Our Correspondent

TINSUKIA, June 25: Discontent with the present leadership of Axam Xahitya Xabha (AXX) and Tinsukia Zila Sahitya Sabha in particular, a new literary body has come into existence in Tinsukia christened as Tinsukia Zila Sahityasewi Mancha (TZSM) which held its open session and selection of new office bearers after dissolving the ad-hoc committee at Tinsukia Pensioners Association Bhavan on Sunday.

The open session was addressed by Dr. Bhimkanta Baruah, Professor Emeritus and eminent linguist who said, “We must be careful in the use of language while writing as the written form is being retained for official records.” He further cautioned that the Assamese language was passing through a critical stage and if Assamese people were not conscious enough to save the language, it would go into obscurity.

Eminent Assamese poet Sarifa Khatoon Choudhury, who was unanimously selected as the president of TZSM, chaired the open session. In her presidential speech she explained that there was necessity of one more literary organization in spite of having Axam Xahitya Xabha. She said that the former presidents and other office bearers and members of Tinsukia Zila Xahitya Xabha felt neglected in the Xabha floor by the present central leadership of Xabha. As fall out, this new literary body was constituted. She also made it clear that TZSM had no ideological difference with the Xabha but it had difference with the present leadership of the Xabha. She expressed hope that things would be cleared soon.
The open session was inaugurated by Sahitya Akademi award-winning children writer and former president of Tinsukia Zila Xahitya Xabha, Harendra Nath Borthakur. A book titled Monihar, published by TZSM and edited by Sunil Gohain, was released by Dr. Jyotimala Gohain Phukan , Principal of Tingkhong Collage. Former MLA Anup Phukan also addressed the open session. Earlier, Atul Chandra Sharma, president of the ad-hoc committee of TZSM, delivered the welcome address and the secretary Sarat Chandra Chiringphukan anchored the proceedings of the meeting.

Before the open session, a delegate session of the conference was held. A new executive body of TZSM was formed with Sarifa Khatoon Choudhury as president, Atul Chandra Sharma as working president, Nani Bordoloi as vice-president, Atul Bordoloi as general secretary, Pallab Sharma as assistant secretary, Ananta Sharma as treasurer, Sunil Gohain as the publication secretary, Diganta Borthakur as cultural secretary and Supriti Baruah as organizing secretary for one year.