Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Fil voter's list for TTAADC polls declared

Fil voters list for TTAADC polls declared

Sentinel Digital Desk

Agartala, March 19: The fil voter's list of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) polls was declared ahead of the council elections, which is likely to take place in the first week of May. CEO and State Election Commissioner of Tripura, S K Rakesh, announced the fil voter list on Wednesday for the TTAADC polls in state secretariat during a press conference.

A total 758554 voters comprising of 383437 male and 375117 female are going to cast their votes for the 28 seats of the TTAADC.

There has been an increase of 19 percent in the number of voters as compared to 2010 voter's list, in which there were 637240 voters.

Rakesh said that Electronic Voting Machines are going to be used for the first time during these elections in which there will also be provision for NOTA.

He further said the entire polling process including the nomition of two representatives by the Governor has to be completed before May 18, the day on which the term of the existing TTAADC ends.

He also informed that the Election Commission of India has taken a new initiative to make the electoral roll error free by incorporating the AADHAAR number, cell number and email ID of the voter along with their me in the list.

Election Commission of India (ECI) has sanctioned 1,450 EVMs for holding elections in 1,071 booths in the tribal areas where ballot papers have been in use since 1982.

Tripura ADC is currently under CPM rule with all the 28 seats in the council belonging to it. This time the ruling party is likely to face challenges from tribal-based Indigenous Peoples' Front of Tripura (IPFT) and BJP. Both the parties have strengthened political base in the hills. (ANI)

Next Story