First session of new BTC Executive Council held

From our Correspondent

KOKRAHAR, April 28: The first session of the new Executive Council of BTC formed recently was held on Tuesday. In the session, the BPF Executive Members (EMs) and all Members of Council Legislative Assembly (MCLA) were administered the oath of office and secrecy by pro-tem Speaker Nerswn Boro.

All 14 EMs except Deben Boro and 26 MCLAs took the oath. EM Alindra Mashahary of Udalguri proposed the me of Tridev Daimary of Udalguri as the Speaker who chaired the remaining part of the session while EM Doneswar Goyary proposed the me of Nerswn Boro as Deputy Speaker. The chief of BTC, Hagrama Mohilary, Deputy Chief Kampa Borgoyary and opposition leader from People’s Coordition of Democratic Rights (PCDR), Rwn Gwra rzary felicitated both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker with traditiol aroi.

The Assemble Secretary, BTC, P Deory Bhrarali called upon the elected members of the house to follow the rules laid down in the guidelines and to protect the decorum of the house in the course of their debate.

Meanwhile, a nine-member team of Bhutan India Friendship Association (BIFA) led by its vice-president Gyeltshen Drukpa and general secretary Ugen Rabten met BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary and deputy chief Kampa Borgoyary in their official chamber on Tuesday and felicitated them as per their tradition. The BIFA, which has been playing a pivotal role in establishing mutual understanding and strengthening the bond of unity between the people of Bhutan and Bodoland, wished the new BPF-led government in BTC success.

The BIFA team included Tanbay Dorji, Member, mgay Dorji and Karma Tshegin of Sarpang Chimi Dorji, Som Tantsho, Pema mgay, Sangay Phuntsho, Chimi Hazin) and Kinley Pema, all from Gelephu.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam