Top Headlines

Five from NE bag Sahitya Akademi awards

File photo

GUWAHATI, June 22: Five writers from North East figure in the list of Bal Sahitya Puraskar and Yuva Puraskar announced by the Sahitya Akademi, on Friday. The Akademi has announced the names of 23 winners of its Bal Sahitya Puraskar and 21 recipients of the Yuva Puraskar for this year.
In Yuva Puraskar category, Bipasha Bora has been selected for her Mou-makshi Samrajya in Assamese and Tongbram Amarjit Singh for his anthology Loubukki Manam in Manipuri.

In Bal Sahitya Puraskar, names from North East that figure are Jugallochan Das (Sonbali Bagichar Bhut — a novel in Assamese), Sitaram Basumatary (Gotho Gothaini Solo Bhata — short story collection in Bodo), and Khangembam Shamungou (anthology: Mahousha Lairembigee Mashaigonda Thirushi Lao Yenglushi Lao in Manipuri).

The Yuva Purashkar for Bodo language will be declared later.
The Bal Puraskar awards will be conferred at a function on November 14, which is celebrated as Children’s Day, being the birth anniversary of India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. The date for conferring the Yuva Puraskar awards has not been declared yet.

“The awards were recommended by jury members representing 22 Indian languages, and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met today under the Chairmanship of Dr Chandrashekhar Kambar, President, Sahitya Akademi,” a statement said.

“Ten books of poetry, seven of short stories, three novels and one play” have been chosen for the Yuva Puraskar award.

The award comprises a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 for both types of awards.

Established in 1954 by the Indian Government, Sahitya Akademi is India’s premier literary institution, promoting and preserving literature in 24 languages.